Lake Hévíz , boasting special hot water source, is famous throughout Europe, thanks not only to its spectacular and pleasant location, but also to the therapeutic effects of its thermal water.
The surface area of the lake is 4.44 hectares. However, its specialty lies in the quality of its water. 410 liters of 40 C ° water per second bursts out from the source cave. Thanks to this water flow, the lake’s water is completely replaced in 72 hours, thus keeping it clean. The temperature of the lake’s water is 36 degrees in summer and it does not fall below 24 degrees in winter either, making it a pleasant experience for all ages throughout the year.
The source-cave as well as the lake itself is highly protected. The origin of Lake Hévíz dates back to the time of the formation of the basalt hills around Lake Balaton. The lake of Hévíz is also a unique geological phenomenon, as, unlike the other hot-water lakes in the world, which usually rest in volcanic clay or rocky habitats, Hévíz spring-lake is characterised by peat bed.
While you spend your holiday at us, spend half a day or a day at the lake of Hévíz boasting therapeutic thermal water!
Vilmos Schulhof Promenade, which leads to the entrance to Hévíz Lake, has a fresh and pleasant atmosphere due to its Mediterranean microclimate and its colourful flowers blooming from early spring to late autumn, as well as its exotic evergreens.
The plane trees lining the promenade, and the old trees planted at the same time as poplars – the ashes, the swamp cypresses, and the dawn redwood – reflect the pulsation of life.
The historic buildings of the St. Andrew Hospital for Rheumatology is situated at one of the sides of the promenade shaded by trees. The houses built in the 1870’s were converted into their present form in the early 1900s. Each house has its own separate story. The atmosphere of the walkway is completed by a series of public statues.
The church of Egregy is located 2500 meters from Hévíz’s medical centre, on the eastern slope of the Karmacs hill by Hévíz. It is a beautiful example of the small Romanesque-style Hungarian village churches.
The church draws attention of the casual spectators to by its strikingly beautiful proportions, its noble simplicity and its harmonious integration into the Pannonian landscape. The beautiful appearance is in line with the practical still sophisticated craftsmanship of long-lasting construction.
The time of its construction is not known, it could have constructed much earlier than its first mention in a 1341 charter.
The church was made of Pannonian sandstone found in large abundance in the area.
The building is longitudinally arranged and divided into three sections. The tall tower is located in the west, the lower and the wider nave is found to the east, and the lower and narrower shrine is connected to the nave. The most beautiful part of the temple is the tower, covered by an octagonal so-called “winch helmet”. The baroque reconstruction took place in 1731 and was later renovated several times. The Egregy church, one of the most beautiful monuments of the Árpád-era village churches, has been decorated with antique furnishings since the 1964-65 renovation and is now offering true historic atmosphere to visitors.
Sümeg Castle is located in the western part of the Balaton Uplands, at the top of a lonely peak on the outskirts of the surrounding area. A pleasant walk leads up the mountain. The nucleus of the fortress of three parts is the lower level of the keep (a fortified tower) built in the 1260s. The walls of the citadel were made a century later, and during the 15th century, the plateau in front of the castle was surrounded by a strong, high protective wall. The castle often hosts historic games and arts and crafts programs, so you can be easily gripped by the spirit of the castle.
The ruins of the Szigliget Castle rise in the Balaton-Highlands, near the village of Szigliget, on the cone of the volcanic mountain of the former island of Lake Balaton.
The castle offers you a picturesque view of Lake Balaton.
The experience of freedom, the unparalleled sight, and mountain walk in the fresh air can offer a whole day program.
Festetics Castle in Keszthely, today a museum and a venue for various events, is one of Hungary’s most visited castles.
Its construction was started by Kristóf Festetics in 1745. The one-storey baroque mansion dating to the 18th and 19th centuries was rebuilt and expanded several times.
The castle park is a nature reserve. The building is surrounded by a French garden, behind which there is an English park. It features several-hundred-year-old trees, colourful flower beds, fountains, sculptures – including the whole bronze statue of György Festetics (I.) – as well as the building of the lion’s well and a garden pond.
In the castle park there is a former wagon remise housing the botanic garden and the carriage exhibition, and a new building by the rear exit of the park featuring a hunting exhibition and a historic model railway exhibition.
Keszthely offers you 7 unique museums in the centre of town:
1. The Building of the Parliament made of snail shells,
2. Dolls in folk costumes,
3. Historical panoptic,
4. Vidor Toy Museum,
5. Matularium (popularizing the world famous novel of István Fekete, namely the Thorn Castle)
6. Horror and torture Museum,
7. Medieval Erotic Panoptic